Love 🥘 cooking

I enjoy cooking , a lot. I started cooking before I could start school. Nay, it was not a punishment, it was out of curiosity. In black cultures, we come from an era of “ if you could walk, you are ready to start doing chores”. So, my first duties was to make tea or coffee and sent to the shops. I would cooking rice or any starch as I grow older , before the parents come back from work. The adults used to work away from work and until late. As children we would try to meet them halfway by starting the pots. Cooking became natural to me. I was the oldest among my siblings. It was my duty to be deputy parent. I enjoyed cooking so much that I became the talk of the street. Adults couldn’t believe I made the food. I was teaching old ladies how to cook 👩‍🍳. Eventually in my older years I had a catering business. I was too young, made foolish decisions, trusted the wrong people with my business. Business went bankrupt and, I closedown. That was a lesson learnt. My love for cooking helped maybe, me to get married young. I think 🤔 there’s some truth in the saying, “a way through a man’s heart is through his stomach “. I enjoy spending hours in the kitchen. Literally, you will find me bare feet in the kitchen. Cooking is more of an expression of my love. Even when I’m stressing, I cook. I would love to publish cooking books in the future. As much as I love cooking I’m not a fan of eating. I’m a vegetarian now, for two years but, I still cook meat for my family. Being able to cook has helped me tremendously with my diet transitioning. I enjoy my vegetarian meals because I used cook a lot of vegetable options in my meals. Cooking is therapeutic to me.

Leave a comment